Thanksgiving!!

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!! 

Image

I love Thanksgiving so while it was sad to not be with the rest of our family for the holiday Ryan and I went all out and did things properly! 

On the menu… 

Chateau St. Michelle Red Wine 
Mini hotdogs
Carrots 
Bread stuffing (made with homemade bread) 
Buns
Turkey cooked with bacon
Butternut squash with cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar
Cranberry sauce
Mushroom Gravy
Caramel sugar cookie bowls filled with baked cinnamon caramel apples
Tea

All prepared by yours truly!

Yes, you read that right, I cooked an entire, proper, Thanksgiving meal myself today and am extremely proud of that! 🙂

I began by preparing everything after lunch so that it would be easy to cook later on during the day

Image

(I’m watching Cashmere Mafia, a show so bad they cancelled it halfway through the first season, but I enjoy it from time to time)

I made some bread a while ago so took a loaf of that and cubed it then toasted it for the stuffing. To that I added minced mushroom, celery, onion, garlic, margarine, a soup cube and half a cup of water. Popped it in a pan and stuck it in the fridge for later.

I also minced extra garlic, mushroom and onion for the gravy and covered the turkey breast in bacon and prepared it to be cooked. Unfortunately since there are only two of us we didn’t buy a whole turkey, only a turkey breast, otherwise we’d have turkey coming out of our ears! Plus it would be hard to cook anything else in the stove!

I chopped the carrots, thawed the hotdogs and then made the sugar cookie bowls!

Image

 

The bowls were super easy, I made a half of a sugar cookie recipe, added some caramel sauce I found called Dulce de Leche Caramel and put the dough on the underside of a muffin tin. It only made two, which was all I wanted, and they cooked really well! Afterwards I popped them in the freezer and left them there until it was time to bake dessert. 

Around the time that I had finished all this I got a surprise! Ryan came home with flowers for me and wine for tonight! 

Image

 

Such a nice Thanksgiving day surprise! 

I spent the rest of the day writing and Ryan was working. Then around five I got cooking again! 

ImageImage

 

By six everything was done and we were eating!

Image

 

It was delicious and of course we have a ton of leftovers!

After dinner we loaded the dishwasher, hand-washed the fancy plates and wished there were more than just the two of us to do dishes! Then Ryan took an hour to do some work and we digested before dessert and our (OK maybe my) new favourite thing … FRINGE!

Image

 

Dessert turned out beautifully!

Image

 

Image

 

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! We love you guys and are so thankful to have you in our lives!

Image   

 

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving!!

  1. Sarah, you did an outstanding job in preparing Thanksgiving supper. Ryan, nice touch with the flowers and wine 🙂 It was nice to talk on Skype, We miss you and love you … see you guys soon….

  2. Family is where it’s at baby! We are so lucky to have each other, love you both! And I totally
    agree with Franceen, way to go !

Leave a Reply

