Holiday Baking!

Tomorrow is American Thanksgiving, which is completely throwing me off! Since it’s so late compared to normal and so close to Christmas every time people talk about “the holidays” (meaning Thanksgiving) I keep thinking about Christmas! I even put on Christmas socks this morning. With the Thanksgiving pot luck coming up tomorrow I was doing some baking to bring over and of course it felt more like Christmas baking than anything. Even when we went to buy funny Thanksgiving presents (more on that in a later blog post) I was drawn to Christmas things! It’s such a time warp around here. 

Anyway, I wanted to bring a dessert tomorrow and also decided to bake a little thing to give to everyone (There’s that Christmas mentality again!) so I’m going to take you through the three things I baked this morning. 

Image

Squares. I love squares, my mom used to make them all the time and they are delicious. 

Image

 

To make squares you need: 

1/2 cup margarine 
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg 
pinch of salt
Vanilla
1 cup flour (or 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup oats but I just used flour) 
Chocolate chips

Mix it all together, put it in a pan and bake for a while! 

Image

Two lucky people are going to get some squares in a tin tomorrow! 

Three lucky (I think, never made the recepie and haven’t tasted them since they are in a loaf…) people are going to get chocolate chip loaf

Image

 

I found this recipe here http://forchicsake.com/chocolate-chip-loaf/

2 cups flour
baking powder
salt
1/4 cup butter
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 cup milk
vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips

Image

 

Finally I made a batch of peanut butter cup cookies. These are supposed to be mini and make a batch of 48 or so. You need to use a mini muffin tin, Ryan and I don’t have one and I didn’t want to buy one so I started out by making them into cookies, that didn’t work at all and 9 cookies had to be tossed (they melted and stuck together and didn’t want to get off the parchment paper at all!) so I used the regular muffin tin and just made massive ones. These also had some problems getting out of the tin, I think next time I should buy a mini muffin tin and muffin papers … oh well 

2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
salt
1 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup white sugar
2 eggs
vanilla
48 mini peanut butter cups (we have a lot left in the freezer since they didn’t go according to plan!) 

ImageImage

At least everyone likes peanut butter so they can’t be too bad! 

Image

 

Stay tuned for a few days of food posts! Tomorrow Ryan and I cook for the pot luck (potatoes, pigs in a blanket and a veggie platter) and then by Friday the Thanksgiving post should be up! 

One thought on “Holiday Baking!

  1. Your baking looks fabulous! I am sure your friends will all enjoy..especially because they are a thoughtful gift!…and this is the time for giving! Your peanut butter cups look really delish…!! Waiting to hear about your Thanksgiving in Seattle! Happy Turkey Day! xo

Leave a Reply

